JOE BROOKS, FLY FISHERMAN.

Joe Brooks, the famous fisherman from ABC’s “American Sportsman”, in the 60′s and 70′s. We all owe him something. This documentary project will show us who he really was. And how Fly Fishing can save someone’s life. From one addiction to another. But it’s in fact much more thant just that. Just go HERE to stay tuned anout that documentary.

WE STAND CORRECTED

Recently we were raving about the last Scale, dedicated to a large extent to women in the (fly) fishing world. An enthusiasm that earned us a little comment by Jen Ripple, founder and editor-in-chief Dun, a fly fishing magazine I must confess I had never heard of. First of all, Dun is a real high quality job. Go have a look! The editorial line is clearly feminine, which doesn’t mean that it can only be read by women, much to the contrary. In my book, everyone will benefit from the development of the women’s view of the sport. And I do think there is a valid way of considering fly fishing from a gender perspective.

Besides, there will be exciting colleterals. Am I the only guy to have dreamt of planning the next fishing trip with my partner, in the role of a fishing buddy, not a selfless victim of my lunacy?

My daughter is 8 years old. She trains her fly casting with me. I’ll show her Dun, and if I’m lucky, some day we’ll go fish for Alaskan kings together, and maybe this day the guide will be a woman. Come on, guys, it’s time to print a copy of the magazine, and casually leave it on the coffee table…

SCALE #13 + THE GIRLS ISSUE

It was worth waiting! The new SCALE issue, number 13 is entirely dedicated to women who fish! 224 pages of refinement, fishing through the eyes of our girls, enough to shut the mouth of all those who still think that fishing is only for us, the bearded and macho kind! What an opening! Probably the first fishing magazine that women will be able to read from A to Z ! Scale, we love you!

SALT

Love at first sight for this book, which I have not read yet, but the pictures of which struck me dumb. It’s called Salt, Coastal and Flats Fishing, it’s from Rosenbauer and Anderson, and it’s your ticket to wet and salty nights.

 

PATAGONIA TENKARA

We knew by reading his book “Simple Fly Fishing: Techniques for Tenkara and Rod & Reelthat Yvon Chouinard was a Tenkara fan and that he would do anything to support that way of fly fishing. But what a surprise to see that last month Patagonia introduced their own Tenkara gear ! So far Patagonia was only dedicated to clothing gear, the major change in their politic is to provide the actual sport gear itself! That’s great news for the customers (less than 300$ for a complete set) but what about the industry, is Patagonia going to build other gear such as surf borads, fly rods… a door has been opened, we just don’t know what’s going to come out of it! In the meantime it’s great news, Tenkara is probably the best and funniest way to flyfish little rivers and streams!

FISHING STORIES BY NICOLAS GERMAIN

When Nicolas Germain, André Terrier’s soul brother (Mr Terrier was one of France best fly fishing figure) has wrote an amazing book about fly fishing, not a technical book, “la Truite en Héritage”, a book of stories ahppening in his dear and beloved Franche Comté (East of France). But Nicolas has also a blog and a flyshop,  he’s a fantastic tyeer specialized in nymphs and leaders. If you want to read in French or if you just want to be part of the global fly fishing tribe, just get that book!

A SEASON IN THE WILDERNESS

One of our readers, Raphael Amat, took the time to write a review on Edward Abbey’s book A Season in the Wilderness, let’s welcome him on board!

Why should we read such a book when you’re a flyfisherman, and you love water, the whisper of tiny streams, and the large and calm takes at dusk? Though, there it’s not only about burning dust and howling wind under Utah’s arche and rattlesnakes. Edward Abbey deals with the same faith about the spring blossom in the desert, the mineral beauty of canyons and even manages to catch a few rainbow trouts… Is vision of a sacred Nature that turn into a merchandise for people who do not dare about its secret treasures is a call for wisdom and modesty in a world that is going to fast for nowhere.

My fellow angler who is fishing worldwide, put your rod aside, sit down on a rock and admire. An old twisted tree, the call of a sparrow, the beauty of the Earth… (as Fallkus was suggesting so in “Sea trout fishing”).

 

CHOUINARD + MATHEWS + PROSEK = TENKARA

Tenkara, fly fishing Japanese style, sobriety, almost like naked fishing, nothing but a rod a line and a fly, the ultimate fishing? Probably the one that gets you the closest to the basics. At least according to Yvon Chouinard, from Patagonia, Craig Mathews, from Blue Ribbon Flies, Mauro Mazzo, renowned guide, illustrations by James Prosek froworded by one of our favorite artist: Russel Chatham who all got together to write Simple Fly Fishing: Techniques for Tenkara and Rod and Reel 

ODE TO THE BONE

Here is the 1st part of a Christmas poem found in BoneFish On The Brain.

Twas the day before Christmas, when all through the bay
Not a creature was stirring, not even a ray.
The rods were all strung up and rigged up with care
In the hopes that a bonefish, soon would be there.

The crabs were all nestled all snug in their holes
And the flat was empty, devoid of other souls.

More…

XMAS BOOK: 50 Best Tailwaters to Fly Fish

50 Best Tailwaters to Fly Fish, what else do you need to know? That Terry and Wendy Gunn have made a amazing job on gathering all the informations you need to be a happy fly fisherman, from Lodge, guides, dining, lodging and fishing! Maybe one of the best book you could get for Xams!

PÊCHER À LA MOUCHE AU BELIZE

Fly Fishing Belize, une bible pour tous les pêcheurs de Permit ou ceux qui rêvent d’en attraper ? Jim Klug dont on connais tous les photos sans savoir qu’elles sont de lui, à réuni les meilleurs d’entre elles dans un livres préfacé par Tom Bie (The Drake). Sans doute un cadeau de Noël à offrir (ou s’offrir) pour tous les fondus de la pêche en mer. Fly Fishing Belize

PÊCHES SPORTIVES N°101

Ah! Le revoilà ! A chaque fois on a un petit frisson… Car les difficultés de la presse papier ne sont un secret pour personne. Parfois, on a la critique facile et la dent dure, mais honnêtement, combien d’entre nous devons tant à Pêches Sportives dans notre vie de pêcheur ? Alors renvoyez l’ascenseur et abonnez-vous ! Lisez l’édito et dévorez les pages du dernier numéro, qui arrive à point avec la Conférence sur le Climat à l’ONU à New York. Je vous assure que vous allez commander deux trucs pour Noël, une canne Tenkara et le nouveau livre de Philippe Boisson et Bernard Delmas. Bon, c’est pas tout, mais je dois mater le DVD qui est livré avec.

Pêches Sportives N°101

AU TEMPS POUR NOUS

Nous nous emballions récemment pour le dernier Scale, consacré dans une large mesure aux femmes dans le monde de la pêche. Un enthousiasme qui nous a valu un petit commentaire de Jen Ripple, fondatrice et éditrice en chef de Dun, un magazine consacré à la pêche à la mouche dont je dois bien avouer que je n’avais jamais entendu parler. D’abord, et c’est le plus important, Dun est un magazine de très grande qualité. Jetez un œil ! La ligne éditoriale est clairement féminine, ce qui ne veut pas dire que la lecture en est réservée aux femmes, bien au contraire. A mon sens, le monde de la mouche a tout à gagner à un croisement de perspectives. Et je crois qu’il y a réellement un intérêt à considérer la mouche sous l’angle du genre.

Et puis, le développement de la mouche féminine n’est pas sans effets secondaires appétissants. Serait-je le seul à avoir rêvé de planifier mon prochain voyage de pêche avec ma compagne dans le rôle du compagnon de pêche et pas de la victime de mes lubies ?

Ma fille a 8 ans, et elle s’entraîne à la mouche avec moi. Je lui montrerai Dun, et si j’ai de la chance, on ira un jour ensemble prendre des kings en Alaska, et peut-être que ce jour là le guide sera une femme. Allez, les mecs, il est temps d’imprimer un exemplaire de Dun et de le laisser traîner sur la table du salon…

SCALE N°13 = LE NUMERO DES FILLES

Ça vaut le coup d’attendre ! Le nouveau numéro de SCALE, le treizième est entièrement féminin !! Eh oui, pourquoi penser que la pêche à la mouche soit uniquement réservée aux moustachus ? Allez, allez, foncez ! Dévorez moi ça ! Ce sont 224 pages de bonheur qui vous attendent ! Je ne peux plus écrire, je dévore ce numéro, vous devriez en faire autant ! 

SEL

Le coup de foudre immédiat pour ce livre, que je n’ai pas encore entre les mains, mais dont les photos qui passent en ligne m’ont séché net. Ça s’appelle Salt, Coastal and Flats Fishing, c’est de Rosenbauer et Anderson, et ça vend du rêve humide et salé.

PATAGONIA TENKARA

On savait, suite à la lecture de son livre ”Simple Fly Fishing: Techniques for Tenkara and Rod & Reelqu’Yvon Chouinard était un adepte du Tenkara, mais que cela entraine la fabrication et la vente de cannes à mouche Tenkara “Patagonia”, ça,  c’est une vraie surprise (aux alentours de 200 Euros) ! Cela veut-il dire que Patagonia va également se lancer dans la fabrication de martériel de sport alors que jusqu’à aujourd’hui ils ne se contentaient que d’accessoires et de vêtements ? En  tous cas c’est un sacré coup dans le monde de la pêche et une nouvelle politique qui ne va pas forcément ravir les autres fabricants… Mais vu les prix, (moins de 300$ aux USA avec le livre de Chouinard) cela va faire plaisir aux pêcheurs, et d’ailleurs le Tenkara n’est-il pas ce qu’il y a de mieux pour nos rivières de montagne ?

 

HISTOIRES DE PÊCHE, NICOLAS GERMAIN

Quand Nicolas Germain, le fils spirituel d’André Terrier, prend la plume, ça donne un superbe livre qu’on a envie de dévorer d’un coup ! Les extraits que nous en avons eu de “la Truite en Héritage” ont fait qu’on a pas hésité une seconde avant de le commander ICI, Nicolas est un des pêcheur les plus important de l’Est de la France et sa passion pour la mouche fait de lui un personnage incontournable de la pêche contemporaine, en plus d’être un excellent pêcheur, c’est un monteru hors pair et on ne vous conseillera jamais assez d’aller fair eun tour sur sa boutique. Bon ,c’est pas tout, je guette la postière, j’ai un bouquin à lire, moi !

DESERT SOLITAIRE

Raphael Amat, un de nos fidèles lecteurs nous a offert un peu de son temps et à écrit pour vous, chers Mouchingz une revue du livre d’Edward Abbbey, Désert Solitaire. Merci.

Pourquoi lire un bouquin avec un titre pareil quand on est moucheur et qu’on aime l’eau, le murmure des ruisseaux, les bons gros gobages dans le calme du soir ? Pourtant, ici il n’est pas uniquement question de poussière brûlante, du vent qui hurle sous les arches de l’Utah ou de crotales. Edward Abbey nous raconte avec la même énergie les bouquets de fleurs du désert au printemps, la beauté minérale des canyons et parvient même à capturer quelques truites arc en ciel… Sa vision d’une Nature sacrée devenue marchandise comme une autre pour des gens qui ne savent pas en déceler les trésors cachés est un appel à la sagesse et à la modestie dans un monde qui va trop vite et nulle part.

Ami moucheur qui part au bout du monde, pose ta canne, assieds toi sur un caillou et admire. Un vieil arbre tordu, l’appel d’un piaf, la beauté du monde… (tout comme Falkus le suggérait également dans sa « Bible du pêcheur de truite de mer »).