PROOF OF FRENCH GENIUS.

I don’t know if you’re like me, but traveling in a car bores me; to such a degree that the temptation to crash my car into the first sycamore tree often visits my spirit. I don’t do it, except rarely, for fear of wrecking havoc on one of these magnificent trees.

The only time that I rode in one of these damned cars with pleasure, was when Cyril and I went fishing. And when it’s Cyril who drives, I have the leisure to enjoy the countryside and we pass the time telling stories, the more preposterous, the better.

On that blessed day it was my birthday, it was like a sunday drive in the park heading to a river that Cyril was keeping secret.

As a birthday gift I had received a marvelous book about the life of the celebrated “douanier Rousseau”, a magnificent artist. I wanted to share my enchantment and happiness with my flakey friend as he piloted us. Read more…

THAT IS COOL!

There is hope for our French rivers!! In the US, the Boise River watershed has suffered from big fires. And then all the burned stuff was flushed down to the river by big rain… The fishermen were frightened to see what was left down there this year, but the nature finally found its path.

That is true when we leave the nature doing its magic!!! Sign the petition so we can let her do so !!!

CALL FOR OUR RIVERS IN FRANCHE COMTE

Sign the petition!!! For a couple of years from now, our rivers in Franche Comté suffer from massive death of our trouts, graylings, and fish in general. Every year, those mortalities carry off these fabulous fish from rivers like la Loue, le Doubs, or this year le Dessoubre,. Those rivers are recognized by many as the most beautiful rivers in France.

Photo:Nicolas Germain

The cause of those death is very likely linked with the quality of the water. So, dear fellow fishermen, friends of le Mouching, sign the petition so that our ministry of Ecology hear us and react!!!

There will also be a protest the 17th of May at St Hippolyte, it’s the right moment!

Many thanks to Yves Faillenet and Nicolas Germain for pushing those informations.

LESSON OF HUMANITY.

The meal had been divine. We might have abused the famous YAMAZAKI, that extraordinary Japanese whisky, for the pupils of my friend Cyril indicated that he was probably inebriated,

however that didn’t stop him from taking the floor.

“My dear Flèche, I know that your possess a staggering erudition and culture, but, do you know there are snakes that regularly escape the cages of their owners and are later discovered in the most bizarre places. Read more…

AVALAAAAAAAANCHE!!

In Norvège, when then blow an avalanche, it’s no joke.

FLY FISHING COLLABORATIVE

Fly Fishing Collaborative we support them, you have to support them too, I guess everythin gis pretty clear in that film so join, if you feel you can help too.

GET UP AND GO PLAY OUTSIDE!

There is not much to add, if not that it makes you want to get out and have fun!  Old Crow Medicine Show/mississippi sathurday night

EASTERN SIERRA

Californian ridge, can it be more beautiful than that? You remember the western films from our childhood, or even The Misfits with Marylin, Monty Cliff and Clark Gable? well, that’s where it is, in the middle of the Eastern Sierrra, where it’s almost desert and yet where life explodes by the rivers. And I want to have the same white hat as the fishing cowboy!  went there, to shoot those amazing images for Red Truck Fly Rods. 

ARISTOCRATIC PICNIC

“I’ll pick you up around 9 a.m.”  My good friend Stephen McPherson dosn’t lie. At 9 on the dot, the gravel in the courtyard of our house was crunching as he parked his Land Rover. I threw my fishing gear in the trunk and we hit the road.

I should mention that the Stephen in question was an old friend whom I met on a Scottish loch not far from his family house which is a sort of castle without ghosts, built in a severe style of gray stone. Read more…

THE RIVER + THE BROTHERS BROWN + SUMMERS

The River, we all have a special story with a river, our river, the one our heart beat faster when we get close to it, the one that when we mention her name tons of memories come to our mind. Here The River is the Ausable in Michigan. You can get the DVD HERE. Not only will you ifnd The River but Brothers Brown and Summers, two other films for over 3 hours of river love and fly fishing !

The Brothers Brown, the story of three borthers Matt, Mark et Eric, who grew up and live by the Ausable.

Summers, The story of Bob Summers, Bambou rod builder in Michigan state and his realtionship with George Griffith, founder of Trout Unlimited, with whom he’s been fishing for 25 yearsn .

Preuve du génie Français.

J’ignore si vous êtes comme moi, mais les voyages en voiture m’ennuient. Tellement que la tentation d’aller écraser ma bagnole contre le premier platane venu me vient souvent à l’esprit. Je ne le fais que rarement par souci de la santé de ces merveilleux arbres.

Les seules fois où je monte avec plaisir dans ces fichues automobiles sont quand Cyril et moi partons à la pêche. Et si c’est Cyril qui conduit bien sûr, me laissant le loisir de me régaler des paysages et  passer notre temps à nous raconter des histoires, les plus loufoques, les meilleures.

Et ce jour béni de mon anniversaire, nous étions en goguette direction une rivière dont Cyril avait gardé le secret.

J’avais reçu comme cadeau un merveilleux livre sur la vie du célèbre douanier Rousseau, artiste magnifique. Un enchantement dont je voulais partager mon bonheur avec mon loustic de camarade pilote. Lire la suite

CA C’EST COOL!

Il y a de l’espoir pour nos rivières!! Outre-Atlantique, la Boise River a souffert de gros incendies dans son bassin versant qui ont eu pour conséquence de déverser des tonnes de matières organiques dans la rivière avec les grosses précipitations…. Les pêcheurs avaient vraiment peur de ce qu’ils allaient retrouver cette année, mais la nature a réussi à trouver son chemin.

Ca, c’est vrai quand la nature, on la laisse tranquille!!! Alors signez la pétition pour que justement, on la laisse tranquille!!!

MOBILISATION POUR NOS RIVIERES DE FRANCHE COMTE

Signez la pétition!!! Depuis quelques années, nos rivières de Franche-Comté souffrent d’un mal qui tue les truites, les ombres, et les poissons en général. Chaque année, des vagues de mortalité frappent les rivières comme la Loue, le Doubs, ou cette année le Dessoubre, et déciment les populations de celles que beaucoup reconnaissent comme les plus belles rivières de France.

Photo:Nicolas Germain

La cause de ces mortalités semble clairement être la qualité de l’eau. Donc, amis pêcheurs, amis du Mouching, signez la pétition pour faire réagir notre ministre de l’Ecologie!!!

Il y aura également une manifestation le 17 mai à St Hippolyte, c’est le moment!

Merci à Yves Faillenet et Nicolas Germain pour nous avoir relayer ces infos.

Leçon d’humanisme.

Le repas avait été divin. Peut-être avions-nous un peu abusé de cet extraordinaire whisky japonais le fameux YAMAZAKI, toujours est il que d’ une voix pâteuse, Cyril néanmoins pris la parole :

- Mon cher Flèche, je te sais d’une érudition et d’une culture faramineuse. Mais as-tu déjà entendu parler de ces serpents qui, régulièrement, s’échappent des cages de leurs propriétaires et que l’on retrouve dans des lieux les plus bizarres ? Lire la suite

AVALAAAAAAAANCHE !!

En Norvège, quand ils déclenchent une avalanche, ça ne rigole pas….

FLY FISHING COLLABORATIVE

Nous ne sommes pas que pour consommer. Fly Fishing Collaborative aide les enfants en difficultée et étrangement à la protection des rivières. Il faut les aider. Nous les aidons en mettant leur video en ligne, chacun peut faire quelque chose, c’est expliqué dans la video (en anglais) mais nous aurons l’occasion de vous expliquer tou ça dans un autre post avec un autre film.

DEBOUT ET ALLEZ JOUER DEHORS!

Y’a pas grand chose à ajouter, simplement que ça file une patate d’enfer ! Old Crow Medicine Show/mississippi sathurday night

EASTERN SIERRA

Les montagnes de Californie, mais qu’est ce que c’est beau ! Vous vous souvenez des westerns de votre enfance, ou même des Désaxés  avec Marylin, Monty Cliff et Clark Gable ? Et ben ouais, c’est là au milieu des montagnes, presque désertiques, mais où la vie explose près des rivières. En tous cas moi, j’aimerai bien avoir le beau chapeau blanc du cow boy qui pêche !  est allé là-bas, tourner de belles images pour les cannes Red Truck Fly Rods. 

PIC NIQUE ARISTOCRATIQUE

« Je passe te chercher vers 9h00 » . Mon bon  ami Stephen McPherson n’avais pas menti. À 9h00 tapantes, sa Land-Rover se garait dans la cour de notre maison faisant crisser le gravier. Le temps de ranger mes affaires de pêche dans le coffre et nous étions sur la route.

Il faut que je vous dise que le Steven en question était un vieux copain que j’avais rencontré il y a bien longtemps sur un loch écossais, non loin de sa demeure familiale, une espèce de château sans fantôme, aux pierres grises et sévères. Lire la suite

THE RIVER + THE BROTHERS BROWN + SUMMERS

La Rivière, on a tous une histoire avec une rivière, notre rivière. Il y a une rivière que l’on aime, qui nous touche plus que tout, une rivière que l’on approche avec joie et où les souvenirs se bousculent quand on l’évoque om quand on y traine… The River est un film sur cette histoire d’amour avec une rivière l’Ausable. Le DVD est disponible ICI. Vous y trouverez non seulement The River, mais aussi The Brothers Brown et Summers, trois heures de film de pêche, foncez, ça vous occuepra les nuits où vous ne pêchez pas !

The Brothers Brown, l’histoire de trois frères Matt, Mark et Eric, qui vivent et ont grandi au bord de l’Ausable.  

Summers, c’est l’histoire de Bob Summers, facteur de cannes en bambou dans le Michigan et sa realtion avec son pote George Griffith avec qui il pêche depuis 25 ans et qui n’est autre que le fondateur de Trout Unlimited.